Anmeldelser (1.531)
Afgræns
-
Efter bedømmelse
I've had this app installed for a while and for the most part it seems to work fine, but after reading some reviews today about customers being unsubscribed if they don't check the "accept marketing" box at checkout, I looked and sure enough I think this has happened with my account too which is terrible! Some customers have been with me for years and then all of the sudden they're off my mailing list because they didn't check a box? I'm uninstalling this app today.
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. After extensive testing, we've figured out how this could be happening after finding a bug in Shopify during checkout. We've been in contact with their technical team, and they have acknowledged this is a glitch on their end. They are working hard to deploy a fix for this problem.
Here's why you are having the previous subscribers moved to unsubscribed (or transactional).
1. Let's say jim@gmail.com checks out in your store and opts out of marketing on their first checkout. In Shopify, this customer is NOT subscribed at this point.
2. Later on, you decide to connect ShopSync with an existing Mailchimp Audience.
3. jim@gmail.com IS currently subscribed in Mailchimp in this example - perhaps you gathered their email address previously via another platform or curated them from a pop-up/landing page or social media.
4. With ShopSync now connected, jim@gmail.com comes back to place an order for the second time, and this time they opt-in at checkout.
5. Here's the bug...Shopify doesn't update that customer to be subscribed to marketing on the second order.
6. Because the user is still deemed to be opted out of marketing, Shopify passes this information to Mailchimp as unsubscribed; if they don't complete the checkout, they would be marked as transactional.
The only workaround we can advise is to resubscribe the customer via the Shopify admin manually. This action will POST a customer update to Mailchimp with the correct subscriber status to your Audience.
Thanks again for the feedback, but please understand the unsubscribe behavior is not because of ShopSync specifically. Because of the bug, any app listening to a customer update from Shopify would pass the wrong information at this point on the customer's marketing status.
We don't have visibility into Shopify's product release or bug fix roadmap, but I'm happy to reach back out directly when this issue is patched. In the interim, please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.
Glad to have a free app to mitigate the Shopify/Mailchimp negotiation issues. I was skeptical to install ShopSync at first, since I saw many reviewers mentioned issues with old automations re-triggering.
Before I installed this app, I paused all of my Mailchimp automations, then ran the installation, and everything was set up and is working as expected. I had none of the issues the others were talking about.
I also ran some test orders, and everything is working exactly like it did with the native Mailchimp app. The only difference I saw was that in an order detail, you can't see if a customer subscribed to your list. Not a deal breaker at all, just a minor thing I've noticed.
This is by far the worst App I have ever had it doesn't do what it says does, entering valid email addresses that are not spam or bot it chooses what it wants to send to mailchimp. So you end up missing out on sign ups if you don't closely check your list. Shopsync solution was to do a re sync that doesn't work either. Even worse now the original Sync has completely messed up my customer date order sequence in my admin section and shopsync are avoiding fixing this. Now when I select the order newest customers I get random mixture of old and new what a balls up. Now I am trying to get them to fix this they avoiding the issue. Apps like this should be banned. This whole experience has also put me off Mailchimp the whole thing has been nothing but a drama and complete waste of time.
There's only one day left before the MailChimp/Shopify integration ends and there's a huge notice when installing this app:
"Important! Please archive any Mailchimp welcome e-mail automation before installing ShopSync
If you have welcome e-mail automations running in Mailchimp, please archive (not pause) before installing ShopSync. There have been reports that emails have been resent after performing sync, and we are actively investigating the issue. Other automations are not impacted and can be migrated as noted in Mailchimp's knowledge base article."
Seriously, who is stupid enough to move forward after reading this?
And reading how ShopSync is replying to other people, seems like a huge loophole where ShopSync & MailChimp will not take ownership of any issues, truly try to help their users, but instead play the "blame game" and refer to the other party over and over.
Removing this app right away...
Hi there, Eidon thank you for your candid feedback. We've confirmed the welcome email behavior is a bug on the Mailchimp side, and their support team is investigating. It's got something to do with timestamps misbehaving internally. To be clear, this is not something that ShopSync is doing but we felt the urgency to make it transparent so our users don't have any surprises. For now, if you have welcome automations running, we recommend that you archive them before activating our app. You can easily reactivate or recreate them after the sync is done and restart.
All that to say, we hope that things will be resolved soon, but we don't have any visibility into their workloads. Other automations are ok to leave as described in the migration guide Mailchimp has published.
Let us know if you have any follow up questions. Feel free to reach back out to us at support@shopsync.io.
I had an issue downloading it at first, but Shopsync addressed the problem and it seems to work smoothly and easily.
Hi there, we're very sorry to hear you're having issues installing ShopSync. We’ve had other users reporting this problem, and after an initial investigation, our best guess is that it's something related to the browser session inside of the app store. We're still doing some checks and balances on our end to be sure, but the redirects after install look perfect; we're also seeing hundreds of successful installs each hour.
Due to recent events, ShopSync has become a popular app, and we're wondering if something may be going on at a low level with DNS or caching inside the app store. We've also reached out to Shopify, and they have asked that we post something in their API forums for further review. We're not sure how long it will take an engineer on their side to look at things.
As a workaround, we've heard from several users that ShopSync can be installed by going to the apps listing page in Shopify. Evidently, after the first error appears, it will then appear on the listing page (just not fully installed). From there, you should be able to go through the install process business as usual. Other users have reported that by changing browsers, it resolved the issue as well.
If you're open to trying the install again, please feel free to do so. Also, don't hesitate to drop a note to support@shopsync.io if you need further assistance.
Update: After further investigation into this issue, we've found that the app store had an unusual redirect method to our installation page that needed to be corrected. This problem appeared for a small subset of users, but we understand how frustrating this behavior can be if you were one of them. We've worked with Shopify to resolve this problem and it should be fixed now.
For all last week trying to reconnect to my account but my emails and articles aren't there contacted several times support but each time received answers
with questions rather than answers!
Not abel to contact by phone although I have paid for pro account $90.00
No phone number exist?
Well, I hate to do this but I am at step one and can't stop getting a sad face saying ShopSync refused to link. I wrote in and followed the instructions 6 times and with no luck I am unable to get the app to simply install. Reviews aren't good so maybe this is my sign to move on. If anyone knows of an email-out system that works for them, please share. Thank you
DO NOT USE THIS APP. If I could give 0 stars I would! We installed this app for 2 of our site migrations and it has malfunctioned on both. Despite the developers saying that they fixed the issue last year, the app is still unsubscribing anyone who repurchases and was already subscribed, therefore hasn't opted in again at checkout (why would they if they're already signed up). We have lost many of our most valuable subscribers due to this app, beware.
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. After extensive testing, we've figured out how this could be happening after finding a bug in Shopify during checkout. We've been in contact with their technical team, and they have acknowledged this is a glitch on their end. They are working hard to deploy a fix for this problem.
Here's why you are having the previous subscribers moved to unsubscribed (or transactional).
1. Let's say jim@gmail.com checks out in your store and opts out of marketing on their first checkout. In Shopify, this customer is NOT subscribed at this point.
2. Later on, you decide to connect ShopSync with an existing Mailchimp Audience.
3. jim@gmail.com IS currently subscribed in Mailchimp in this example - perhaps you gathered their email address previously via another platform or curated them from a pop-up/landing page or social media.
4. With ShopSync now connected, jim@gmail.com comes back to place an order for the second time, and this time they opt-in at checkout.
5. Here's the bug...Shopify doesn't update that customer to be subscribed to marketing on the second order.
6. Because the user is still deemed to be opted out of marketing, Shopify passes this information to Mailchimp as unsubscribed; if they don't complete the checkout, they would be marked as transactional.
The only workaround we can advise is to resubscribe the customer via the Shopify admin manually. This action will POST a customer update to Mailchimp with the correct subscriber status to your Audience.
Thanks again for the feedback, but please understand the unsubscribe behavior is not because of ShopSync specifically. Because of the bug, any app listening to a customer update from Shopify would pass the wrong information at this point on the customer's marketing status.
We don't have visibility into Shopify's product release or bug fix roadmap, but I'm happy to reach back out directly when this issue is patched. In the interim, please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.
**UPDATE**
Shopify has notified us that this issue has been resolved with previous customers as noted above. They will no longer be unsubscribed in this scenario. We have tested ourselves and is working as expected.
I used this app to help with Shopify and MailChimp no longer being directly compatible. I saw a few issues people had had with implementing this app so I did my homework. After comparing apps, reading all the FAQs, and verifying some things with the VERY helpful support staff, I synced up and am now all good. I was confused initially thinking I could only have one list. Not so, only one list can be synced, which has always been the case with MailChimp. Great step by step install instructions. The only confusions were with just how easy the switch-over to this app was.
UPDATED REVIEW: App works ok.
----------------------------
Over 2 days, I've tried 3 times to sync our rather small store with SmartSync and it stalls out every time.
After further investigation into this issue, we've found that the app store had an unusual redirect method to our installation page that needed to be corrected. This problem appeared for a small subset of users, but we understand how frustrating this behavior can be if you were one of them. We've worked with Shopify to resolve this problem and it should be fixed now.
Would you care to update your review if you're able to connect and use ShopSync?