Joy Loyalty Program Rewards

Joy Loyalty Program Rewards

Reviews (1,788)

Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 95% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants say this is a high‑value loyalty app for driving repeat purchases and customer retention. They like the cost‑effective plans with points, referrals, birthday rewards, tiers, and flexible reward ladders. Many highlight easy setup, smooth Shopify integration, and extensive customization to match their brand. Support is frequently praised as fast, patient, and hands‑on with setup, troubleshooting, and custom CSS or UX tweaks.

Edited January 28, 2026

Original Review Nov 16th: (updated below)
I spent $1000 USD on a joke. the customer service is nice enough and tries, but what kind of system can't even calculate the number of members in a membership tier correctly and the search bar for the customer list page doesn't even work. Seriously, I don't even know what to say.

I'm willing to change my review if things get fixed but i'm honestly just so frutrasted right now by the amount of time I've wasted on getting basic things done here.

Nov 24 - Update:
After 2 weeks of back and forth with the team, the majority of issues have been fixed.
I did hope for an easier onboarding process though, it might have saved everyone a bit of grief, but I 100% want to acknowledge to how responsive the team was and did try to be helpful, and for that we are definitely appreciate of.

We just launched the programme last week so we'll see how things go.

Jan 28 Update:
Whilst the basic functionality is working, we are currently working on the email notifications and we've noticed some issues.
- Notification email previews are not able to show us what a customer really sees. It only shows placeholders, which is concerning because it means there is no way to test if the email is set up right and will be send correctly to a specific email because you can't preview for specific profiles to check.

SHEER
Hong Kong SAR
9 months using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied November 17, 2025

Update 9/4/2026:
Thank you for your patience throughout this process. We're glad to confirm that all reported issues, including the email notification preview, have now been resolved. We hope the programme is running smoothly for you and your customers.

If anything comes up, we're always here.
________________________________

Update 2/12/25:

Thank you very much for sharing an update and for acknowledging the work our team has been doing over the past two weeks. We're glad to hear that the majority of the issues have now been resolved and that your programme has successfully launched.

Our team will continue to keep a close eye on your setup to ensure everything runs steadily. If anything comes up or if you need further adjustments along the way, please feel free to reach out. We're always here to support you.
_________________________________

Hi SHEER Team,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We're very sorry for the frustration you experienced and we understand how disappointing it is when the core features you rely on do not work as expected.

Our team has reviewed your case in detail and several issues have now been resolved, including the customer search function and the incorrect VIP member count caused by past orders not being synced. We have also provided a full launch checklist to ensure your loyalty program runs smoothly moving forward via your email.

We truly appreciate your patience while working with us on these fixes. If there is anything else that does not match your expectations or if you would like help optimizing your program settings, our team is always ready to assist.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve.

Best regards,
Joy Loyalty Team

September 15, 2025

Asked the chat how to do something, he said i needed to buy the pro plan to do it, so i purchase the pro plan then the next person that joined the chat said i can't do it and i need to pay 10x more! NO NO NO! lost a customer.

Forbidden13
United Kingdom
5 days using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied September 25, 2025

UPDATED on 6 Nov 2025

Hi, this is Thomas, co-founder of Joy Loyalty.

I wanted to reach out personally to share an update and a sincere apology. We’ve recently improved how VIP tiers can grant exclusive access to specific collections or products. Earlier, our team gave you incorrect guidance — that was our mistake, and I take full responsibility. Since then, we’ve retrained our staff and built a solution that better fits your use case.

Please watch my short message here: https://go.screenpal.com/watch/cTX127nFxBu

This message isn’t about selling or promoting anything. It’s simply about doing what’s right. Our brand stands for integrity, transparency, and continuous improvement, and I wanted to be upfront with you about that.

If we can continue working together after this, it would mean a lot. If not, I completely understand — but I hope you’ll see that we’ve acted with sincerity.

Best regards,
Thomas Nguyen
Co-founder, Joy Loyalty

---- Previous response ----

Hi Forbidden13 Team,

We are truly sorry for the confusion you experienced. There was a miscommunication from our support team regarding the plan requirements, and we sincerely apologize for the frustration this caused.

Your feedback is very important to us, and we are already reviewing this case internally to prevent it from happening again. We truly value your trust and hope you might reconsider, giving us a second chance to support you properly.

If you are open to it, please reach out via the in-app chat so we can carefully review your case and ensure you get the right setup without confusion.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Best regards,
Joy Support Team

Edited August 1, 2025

So we had a problem with the Joy Rewards app — from hereon renamed NO JOY (LOL). The "No Joy" app was NOT recording any points for our Draft Orders. Whenever we processed Draft Orders for our customers, they were not seeing any points added to their account. And "No Joy" had no way to fix this; their customer support was not able to help with this — CRAZY!

Here's what I did to resolve the problem that the "No Joy" app created...
1. First, I loaded an app that can record reward points for draft orders. The Appstle app does that.
2. Next, I downloaded all of our Draft Orders from the date range we were using the "No Joy" app.
3. Then I calculated the missing points for each transaction.
4. Finally, I imported/merged the points for each transaction into the customer accounts in the Appstle app.

Now all our customer points are correctly merged into the customer’s accounts in Appstle, so we’re back up to speed. And now I will delete "No Joy".

ExcellentSupply.com
United States
5 months using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied August 2, 2025

Update Aug 4th:

Hi there,

Just a quick follow-up to let you know that, as promised, our team has updated the app settings and added a clearer option: “Online Store + Draft Orders”. This should help avoid any future confusion around which order types earn points.

Here’s a quick screenshot for reference: https://prnt.sc/NrKhMuL8GmYa

If you have a moment, we’d appreciate it if you could check it out. And of course, if you have any questions or need help reviewing your setup, feel free to reach out anytime; we’re always here to support you.

-----------------------
Hi there,

Thank you for your honest and detailed review. We’re truly sorry for the frustration caused.

We’d like to clarify that when the earning rule is set to “Online Store”, the app only applies points to orders placed directly through the storefront, and Draft Orders are excluded. To ensure points are awarded for both Online and Draft Orders (as well as POS, if applicable), the setting should be changed to “All” sales channels.

We understand that this was not clearly communicated, and we're actively working to improve this. Our team is updating the app settings to include a clearer option like “Online Store + Draft Orders” to help avoid any future confusion.

In the meantime, if you decide to give Joy another try, we’re more than happy to help you manually review and update points for any Draft Orders that were missed. Our support team can assist you in checking the order history, calculating missing points, and updating customer point balances to ensure your data remains accurate and consistent.

If you have any questions or need further support, please don’t hesitate to reach out, we’re here to help.

Best regards,
Joy Loyalty Team

April 1, 2025

Misleading Information. The free plan is NOT 150 monthly orders, it is 150 LIFETIME orders. So once your store hits 150 orders, you're forced to move up to the $24.99/month plan or your rewards are disabled. When I chatted to someone about this, all they said was "we apologize for the misinformation". So now I have to manually move all of my customer's rewards to a new app due to their negligence. I highly DO NOT recommend this app or any AVADA brand apps.

Blue Aster LLC
United States
2 months using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied April 2, 2025

Update 15/4:

Thank you for your response, and we’re glad to hear that the monthly order limit on the Free plan is now clear.

We truly appreciate your understanding and patience as we clarified the details. Your feedback has been invaluable in helping us ensure better communication moving forward.

Should you have any other questions or need further support in optimizing your loyalty program, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We’re always here to help and would be happy to assist you with anything you need.

Thank you again for your time and for being a part of the Joy Loyalty community.
__________________

Dear Blue Aster LLC Store's Owner.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the Free plan’s order limit. To clarify, the Free plan includes 150 orders per month exactly as our information stated on the pricing structure, not lifetime. We understand that our previous explanation may have caused misunderstanding, and we deeply regret any frustration or inconvenience this has caused you.

We always strive to provide clear and accurate information, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve both our communication and the overall experience for all merchants.

We understand how frustrating it must be to reconsider your loyalty program due to this issue, and we would love the opportunity to assist you in any way possible. If you’re open to it, please feel free to reach out to our support team—we’d be happy to work with you to find a solution that best fits your needs.

Again, we apologize for any miscommunication and truly appreciate your time and feedback. We value all our merchants and will continue working to improve both our app and our support.

Best regards,
Joy Support Team

February 7, 2025

I chose this app because of the service recommendations. But they will only give you a demo on the product if you are going to sign up for advanced. I don't know what I wanted until I saw a demo. Back and forth, they didn't want to help so I uninstalled. I just asked for a demo.

diycustoms.store
United States
19 days using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied February 9, 2025

Hi diycustoms.store team,

Thank you for trying Joy Loyalty Rewards and for sharing your feedback. We’re truly sorry for any frustration caused during your experience.

Our demo calls are usually offered to users requiring advanced customization, but we acknowledge that our approach was too rigid in this case, and we regret that we didn’t accommodate your request better. That was never our intention, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

We’d love to make it right and properly assist you. If you’re willing to reinstall the app, our team will arrange a demo call for you right away to walk you through the features and setup. We truly appreciate your consideration and hope to have another chance to support your business.

Best regards,
Joy Support Team

Edited July 28, 2024

Poor customer service. They state they have a 30-day money back guarantee; however, they will refuse or make excuses as to why they can't process the refund (even though it's been within the time frame AND you've uninstalled the app). It appears this app was made to mimic SmileIO, but has a lot of bugs and needs a lot more work to get to their potential. Time consuming to set up and the worst part is the emails are unable to be edited and they have incorrect grammar within their template. Lots of promises to roll out new features, but reading prior reviews that is also smoke and mirrors.

*update - still waiting for refund a week later

Southwest Treasures
United States
About 1 month using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied July 21, 2024

Hello there,

First of all, we sincerely apologize for the delay in updating you regarding your refund request. Unfortunately, the customer service representative who received your initial request forgot to forward it to our billing team, which caused the delay. After reviewing your request, we have confirmed that you are eligible for a refund, and it will be approved.

We want to assure you that we strictly adhere to our refund policy and deeply regret the delay caused by this unforeseen issue.

Since the bill has not yet been paid, you have two options:

1. Pay the outstanding bill, and our team will process a full refund.
2. Alternatively, we can add a credit to offset the amount of the outstanding bill.

Please let us know which option you prefer, and we will proceed accordingly.

Regarding your concerns about the app:

- Comparison to Smile.io: We understand that our app may seem similar to Smile.io, as many loyalty apps share core functionalities and goals. We are dedicated to continuously refining our app to provide a distinctive and enhanced user experience.

- Spelling Errors in Email Templates: We apologize for any grammatical errors in our email templates. Our templates are intended to be editable, so if you encountered issues while editing them, please provide specifics so we can address them promptly.

- Setup Time: We recognize that setting up the app can be time-consuming. We are working on streamlining this process to improve efficiency and ease of use.

- Feature Promises: We understand there may be concerns about promised features. If you could specify which features you feel have not been released as expected, we would be better equipped to provide you with an updated timeframe for their rollout.

We appreciate your feedback, and any additional details about the issues you faced will help us enhance our app further.

Thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best regards,
Joy Support Team

April 26, 2024

The developer makes it seem like they plan to add new features, but they rarely add anything real. We have been using this for almost 2 years, and they have had the "Coming Soon" flag on a "Points Expiration" notification that whole time.

The ability of this app is minimal in the function of a rewards program and will keep your ideas just as small. For instance, even though they have a referral program, you cannot offer points for it only straight discounts.

If all you want is points when they buy, and the ability to offer discounts against those points, this handles that. Give out some points on a persons birthday too woohoo.

HoseWarehouse
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Edited April 3, 2024

Disappointing. The CS was very helpful at the very beginning. However, due to their unknown technical problem, over 6000 customers accounts were duplicated. New accounts were generated automatically every 2 second and their team was unable to make it stop. After 17 days, the problem is remained unsolved. We've been waiting for their replies day by day and they won't contact you unless you contact them. And when they said the duplicated accounts were deleted, actually that's not true as over 6000 duplicated accounts were still there. Their CS didn't even check before they write to their clients. Truly not recommended. If I haven't launched the programme earlier, I would surely delete the app.

Jolie Femme Fashion Store
Hong Kong SAR
17 days using the app
February 28, 2024

Initially, we loved this app. My customers were thrilled to have access to collecting points and redeeming them with coupons. After only a short period of time, my app stopped working completely. Customers no longer were collecting points and we could not target the cause. I contacted customer support via email- because there is no quick and easy access to support- and began the process to try to correct the issue. I start the process of correction and then am ghosted by all members. In which I then have to begin the process all over. I am paying for this service and unable to use it. My screen is completely blank so I cannot even cancel my subscription. I am extremely frustrated with this company and will never recommend. Over a month of trying to resolve and/or cancel this issue and no one has offered to complete the task of helping me, or even cancelling the subscription.
Do not get this app. They’re junk.

Good Grief Refillery
United States
6 months using the app
Joy Loyalty Program & Rewards replied April 15, 2025

Hi Good Grief Refillery Store Owner,

We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and completely understand how frustrating that must have been. This is not the experience we aim to deliver.

Since your review, our team has worked closely with you to resolve the issue, and we’re glad that everything is now working as expected. We’ve also taken your feedback seriously and are improving our support process to ensure more consistent and timely assistance for all merchants.

Thank you again for giving us the chance to make things right.
If there’s anything else you need help with recently, please don’t hesitate to let us know — we’re always happy to support!

— The Joy Loyalty Team

September 26, 2023

This is a very very bad experience for me with the app. Reasons for 1-star review:

- The app still has some UI bugs (even in the demo store). And the open with hash URL did not work when put it in the store navigation (I had to reload the page to get the widget opened).
- I granted permission for their developer to fix the bugs. And this is when things got really bad. First, they turned on "Auto open the widget" without my approval. The referral pop-up also automatically appeared with a bug that stopped customers from exit the annoying pop-up.
- And yesterday, they edited the header.liquid file in my theme. The edit made customers unable to click "Add to cart". This damaged my business. I cannot take it anymore.
--------------------------
The support is responsive. But their tech support needs improving.

Melaninful
Vietnam
About 1 month using the app