BTA Appointment Booking App

BTA Appointment Booking App

Reviews (420)

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants use this as their main booking system for classes, tours, rentals, workshops, and appointments, describing it as reliable, flexible, and easy to manage once set up. They like the clean customer interface, customizable fields, calendars, deposits, reminders, and self-service rescheduling. Many say it replaced other booking tools and integrates smoothly with Shopify. Support is frequently praised as fast, patient, and hands-on with setup and customizations.

Edited August 11, 2026

Tried to install the app and use a basic Event Calendar widget on the Horizon theme. Does not add block correctly to page. Event calendar displays very small. Unable to edit settings to make calendar fill page. Super frustrating.

UPDATE: Their reply makes it seem like they worked with me to get it solved, but they did not solve it. Their tech support recommended I hire an external dev to get it fixed. I had to use outside support to solve my issue. Do not believe their response.

Etch Workz
United States
8 days using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied August 4, 2026

Hi Elisa, we're sorry for the frustration here. We worked with you directly and got a fix in place so the calendar now displays full width. Thanks for your patience, and please reach out anytime if you need anything else.

August 8, 2026

Struggled to get the most basic functions to work on my theme. Spent so many hours trying to make it work but it just never fully realized the way it says it will!

Bev Proseccheria
United States
2 months using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied August 10, 2026

Hi there, sorry to hear you had such a rough time getting things set up! I saw your support ticket and noticed you'd mentioned it ended up working on your end - there may have just been a bit of a lag before everything caught up.

I've followed up with you directly so we can get you fully set up and onboarded - I'll walk you through everything on a support call to make sure it's working the way it should.

Thanks for your patience, and looking forward to getting this sorted!

March 11, 2026

Book that App has been the most frustrating system ever! BTA has constant problems, everything from not allowing people to book same day or multiple days.

The checkout on book that app is now not allowing people to check out their rentals.

Super disappointing, costing me tons revenue because customer can not check out for rentals...DOT NOT USE THIS APP!!!!!

Divide Board Shop
United States
About 1 year using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied March 12, 2026

We're really sorry to hear you've been having such a rough time and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience.

We took a look at your store and, based on the past conversations, it looks like a few things may have been misconfigured, which would explain the booking and checkout issues you're running into. We've already sent you an email with the details to help get everything sorted out.

We're confident we can get this resolved for you quickly once those settings are corrected. Thanks for your patience, and we look forward to making this right!

February 22, 2026

Constantly need support to book due to unfriendly interface. Good luck talking to someone on a weekend. Overpriced and seems like it hasn’t been updated in years. Black outs are annoying, I should just be able to select what days I want to book things on and repeat it. Not block out every day I am not needing a booking.

Astral Auras
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied February 24, 2026

Thank you for your feedback. You’re right that our support coverage is slower on weekends, and we understand how frustrating that can be when you need help urgently.

In your case, the product’s availability issue was caused by a configuration problem. We’ve already assisted with reconfiguring it and followed up with you directly.

October 27, 2025

Unethical Pricing and Locked Account Access
I used this app for over two years on the $29 plan. When my plan expired, I was told I’d have to pay $49 for the exact same plan, a steep and unfair increase. What’s worse, I was locked out of my own account and data unless I paid the higher amount.

Support repeatedly asked me to confirm deletions I couldn’t even see, leaving me unable to access or retrieve my information. This experience felt unprofessional, manipulative, and deeply disappointing.

I would not recommend this app to anyone. If you value fair treatment and data access, stay away. Once your plan ends, you risk being completely locked out of your account.

Mushiya Beauty
United States
Over 2 years using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied October 28, 2025

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, since you manually ended your previous subscription for a legacy plan, you were prompted to select from our current plans. As with most apps, we do not provide the option to select from legacy plans. This is why you were required to choose from a current plan.
You then chose to select a lower-tier plan, which did require the removal of some items you previously configured on the higher-tier plan. I apologize that our Customer Success team was unable to satisfactorily guide you through the required updates. If you decide to continue using the app, we will be happy to help get your store back on track so that you can use one of our current subscriptions.

August 26, 2025

Oversells what it can actually do. Purchased it specifically for its bundling functionality, but it's basic at best and can't handle multiple variants. Support documents were vague and outdated, and this was not made clear until I purchased the upgrade to test this out myself. Setup is very confusing and technical. Support is abysmal with vague responses and a 24 hour wait.

The Real Bride Co.
United States
3 months using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied August 27, 2025

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to see that you were unhappy with the app and its support.

We did fall short of your expectations with our bundling feature, as it does not support bundling at the variant level. We will look into adding this in a future update.

I would note that after a review of your ticket history, all responses were sent in less than 12 hours apart from 1, where you contacted us over the weekend, where we have part-time support.

I apologize for your experience with our app and wish you the best with your online store.

July 5, 2024

I can't explain or comprehend why this app is so user unfriendly. Doing anything simple, like changing the email address that emails are sent from, require so much more information and time than any of the other platforms I use.
Even adjusting email templates for Reminders, require HTML knowledge and competency with Liquid Variables! With the cost of this app, the time spent trying to brand it has been incredibly frustrating.
The good points are its flexibility for having courses (that run multiple weeks) or classes and lots of input details.
However these have been outweighed by my frustration in trying to do simple branding exercises on the platform.
If anyone has any suggestions on either how to make it easier or another app, I would appreciate it!

Clae Space
Australia
Over 1 year using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied July 15, 2024

Hi there 👋

I can agree that the email templates aren't that user friendly. Which is why we are working on changing it. We will be making the template way easier to edit and customize. This is in the pipeline along with other awesome changes that are to come this year.

I have been suggesting to customers to use a "word to html" editor, such as this one (https://wordtohtml.net/email/designer) for the time being. When we implement our change, you will be creating custom email templates in a breeze!

Kind Regards,
BookThatApp Success Team

June 30, 2024

If I could give it a lower rating I would. I have been dealing with this app and its lack of decent tech support for over two years. CONSTANT tech issues, which they have to walk me through a work around fix as they are so involved. And getting support itself is beyond time consuming. Days and weeks. Via email.

My latest issue has been happening at minimum the past several weeks. I figure out today that people are trying to book, mostly unable to, but occasionally making it through, Shopify is taking payment , and BTA is not recording date and time or even inputting into my calendar.. I go check and none of my services are properly booking. I email tech support for almost 2 days now. ZERO response. My booking is how I make my living almost 100%. I now have to somehow figure out how to set up an entire new booking system on the fly so I can make money to pay my bills. I’ve been wondering why there’s suddenly nobody booking. This is why, BTA non functioning app. Don’t download this awful app, you will absolutely regret it. Shopify needs at least one decent booking app option, because this is absurd. This is in addition to: double bookings, bookings made online on days I have blocked off, bookings that don’t even show up in calendar until after the appointment.
Clunky, non user friendly, but most of all nonworking and not reliable or even existent tech support.

Crystal Davidson
United States
Over 1 year using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied July 15, 2024

Hi Crystal,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We really appreciate this!

We are aware that you wrote in over the weekend. Unfortunately, we don't have any support on the weekends, but we have been contemplating it, seeing that you had wrote in with an urgent matter that wouldn't have been noticed until early Monday morning. The moment the team logged on around 1am EST, they swiftly tackled your issue, and João was able to find a solution for you.

We will work on checking in occasionally over the weekends, to be able to pick up on cases like yours. We do apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced 😔.

In regards to your issue, you were shifted from our theme code injection to the theme app extension which you can easily enable and disable in the theme's "Customize" view. If you ever need us, we are here for you! Also, we will be checking in on the weekends to ensure that we do not miss similar cases.

Thanks for sticking with us, and we do look forward to remedying the relationship that we have with you. Have a terrific week!

Kind regards,
BookThatApp Success Team

March 8, 2024

If you go over your bookings for the month you lose access to EVERYTHING. We have one event this month that pushed us to our limit. I've had this app for over a year and have old pricing. To upgrade I'd have to spend an extra $20/month and wouldn't have the option to downgrade again.
Now that I've hit the limit, the only thing I can see is the upgrade page -- none of our currently appointments that we paid for. I chatted with support and they said I won't have access to anything until the new billing cycle. I asked if I'd be able to just start a new cycle early and they said no. There's also no option to buy extra appointments for the month. They told me the only option is to upgrade.
Hitting my monthly limit and not getting more bookings is fine, but not being able to see the bookings I already paid for in my plan is not acceptable.

essbe
United States
About 1 year using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied March 12, 2024

Hi 👋

Thanks a lot for your feedback! We are sorry to see that you were dissatisfied with your recent interaction with us. We do understand your disappointment, and would like to provide clarity on a few things:

"To upgrade I'd have to spend an extra $20/month and wouldn't have the option to downgrade again."

The plan you were on was a legacy version. The updated plan was increased more than once over the years. Also, you were advised that if you were to upgrade to any of the updated plans, you wouldn't have access back to the "Legacy" plan. If the plan no longer exists, then you wouldn't have an option to get back on that plan.

Another thing to add is that you didn't need to change your plan. You could remain on your "Legacy" plan until the new billing cycle starts and your quota is renewed. If you wanted to resume your bookings, you would need to upgrade your plan. But that would mean you wouldn't have access to the "Legacy" plan anymore. We made sure to point that out.

"Now that I've hit the limit, the only thing I can see is the upgrade page -- none of our currently appointments that we paid for. I chatted with support and they said I won't have access to anything until the new billing cycle. I asked if I'd be able to just start a new cycle early and they said no."

This logic existed but it's the first time you have experienced it since hitting your limit due to the revision of the quota on the "Legacy" plans. The support team had submitted a request to change this logic if possible. This has caught the team's attention, and they will revise the request accordingly.

The billing cycle is renewed every xth day that you subscribed. So, if you subscribed on the 6th of March, then your new billing cycle is on the 6th of April. Asking us to shorten your billing cycle for a month or forcing the start of the next cycle is not possible for us to do. Especially, given that Shopify handles the billing, not us.

"There's also no option to buy extra appointments for the month. They told me the only option is to upgrade."

If the option existed, we would have provided it to you in a heartbeat 🙂. We have this added to our feature request list and we are hoping that it's something that we can implement this year. Until then, the only option there is to renew your quota ASAP is to upgrade.

"Hitting my monthly limit and not getting more bookings is fine, but not being able to see the bookings I already paid for in my plan is not acceptable."

As mentioned earlier, we do hope to change the way that this logic is applied. Until then, you can reach out to the support team for assistance with retrieving your reports or any additional information you may want/need.

We wish to continue giving you nothing but great support! Have a great day!

Best Regards,
Support Team at BookThatApp

October 18, 2023

Very poor support. I upload lots of products and bulk import doesn't work and it takes ages.

Passion For Fashion Technologies Pty Ltd
Australia
11 months using the app
BTA Commerce, INC. replied November 8, 2023

Hi there,

We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with our app. We've made some changes since your review and have set alerts to make sure that the app is performing at its best. Unfortunately, when you wrote to us, our office was closed as the team was engaged in a work retreat that week, where we were brainstorming on how to address the issues that our customers were experiencing. I can say that since then, we have implemented changes that have been returning positive results.

If you're willing to give us another try, I'll assure you that we are here to provide you with the best support and we can look into that bulk import together. I'd greatly appreciate hearing back from you. Once more I do apologize for the experience you had, and I'm looking forward to make it up to you!

Cheers,
BookThatApp Support