Reviews (1,408)

Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 78% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants say this app is easy to set up and use for selling digital products, with smooth file uploads, product linking, and instant delivery after checkout. It supports many formats and complex multi‑file bundles, making it essential for digital‑first businesses and those moving from Etsy. Features like download limits, multiple assets per product, and resending updates save time, and merchants find the customer download experience straightforward.

March 10, 2022

Really hoping this app will get some more features. The ability to upload multiple files, uploads different files per variant, these are my top 2 most desired features. The app works fine, it's just so limited.

Oxreen
United States
15 days using the app
Shopify replied March 23, 2022

Hey, there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback and for providing these valuable suggestions. I can definitely understand how those abilities would be useful, and I'll be sure to pass that feedback on to the app's developers for you. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

April 11, 2022

I've been using this app for a while now and find it great. It is simple and does what's required and it's free, so I can't ask for more. The only issue I find is after uploading a pdf, the options are not available immediately but a simple refresh of the page and they are there. Support was great too when I needed help!

ArbeeDesigns
New Zealand
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 21, 2022

Hey, there! Thank you for taking the time and writing this review. We're delighted to hear that you're enjoying our Digital Downloads app! It's likely that the system requires a moment for the files to be available, and refreshing the page helps speed up the process. However, if you experience any issues with uploading files, then we'd be happy to further assist you via callback, live chat, or emails. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us on the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA). Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

May 25, 2022

This app is awful. I’ve had nothing but issues. The download links never work for my customers. It just sends them to a page stating that there is an error and the file can’t be found. I’ve reached out to shopify so many times about this issue and they aren’t helpful and keep telling me everything is fine. I’m losing customers. I strictly sell digital downloads and I cannot be expected to email each customer individually their items. It’s time consuming and inefficient. I’m looking for a new app to begin using because I cannot deal with this one anymore.

pixelcassdesigns
United States
About 1 month using the app
Shopify replied June 21, 2022

Thank you for writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you've had these issues with the Digital Downloads app and that you have not received the support you've required thus far.

I appreciate that you've not been happy with the help you've received, but I would encourage you to contact us again if you're still having problems and wish to use the app. If the download links aren't working properly this should be something we can troubleshoot. You can contact our support team directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

May 31, 2022

It badly misses the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. It is such a hassle to keep having customers email because they can't access the links or lost the emails. If that would be added the app is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars!

Dragons' Garden
Netherlands
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied June 21, 2022

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why customers being able to more easily re-download their files would be beneficial for both them and you, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

June 24, 2022

This app cannot send out updates if the volume of customers and purchases on the given digital asset is too high.

Godfall's Kamui
Canada
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied July 17, 2022

Hey, there. Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. We understand that being able to send updates when there's a high volume of customers or purchases is important to you, and we'd be more than happy to share your feedback on performance improvements with our development team. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

July 10, 2022

Unfortunately you can't develop in SAFARI with this app. It would be really nice if they would have said that and saved me an hour trying to figure that out. I haven't tried testing a download with Safari as yet. Let's hope it at lest does that.

Old School Dungeon Master
United States
3 months using the app
Shopify replied July 26, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue. Some Shopify apps will not work correctly in Safari, and this is often due to the cross-site traffic settings within the Safari browser. We recommend that you head to Safari > Preferences > Privacy and unchecking the "prevent cross-site tracking" option.

Once this is done, please restart your browser and clear your browser's cache and cookies if need be. If the issue persists, you can contact our support team directly for further assistance: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 12, 2022

We use this app to supply free files which accompany bought physical products. It almost works but is very buggy and you have little control over customer notifications (it seems to send them at random). Downloads have also vanished at times and had to be created again. It generates too much customer service traffic, and after three and a half months of struggling with it, we're going to look for an alternative.

Adventure Books by Vertebrate Publishing
United Kingdom
4 months using the app
Shopify replied July 26, 2022

I am sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues with the Digital Downloads app but appreciate you taking the time to inform us here. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team and I hope that you're able to find an alternative option that works better for you. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited August 8, 2022

This app is absolutely worthless and, just like everything else on Shopify, they don't have a clue how to fix anything and I always end up having to go spend money on an app that actually works. This app does not allow you to control when the digital download is sent to your customer, so if you're using this app as a add-on download to a physical product, it won't send it to the customer until the order is fulfilled. We need the download link sent when the order is paid for. Seems logical, right? Yea, not to Shopify. You also cannot edit the email that's sent. Nothing about this app is useful and Shopify gives you the same answer they give every time...."We will send this to our developers to have a look at it". Yea, right.

Dead Fly Zone
United States
7 months using the app
Shopify replied August 19, 2022

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. While you can enable automatic fulfillment for digital products (https://bit.ly/3pvcVMq), this isn't recommended for digital products with physical components involved. However, one option is to create your digital products separately, so that our app can send the download links as soon as the order is paid for.

If you're looking to edit the email template, then we've also got a step-by-step guide on how to do that here: https://bit.ly/3dD3RTb. We'd also recommend reviewing the notification variable reference (https://bit.ly/3AzpSLH) when editing your email template.

That being said, we understand that being able to automatically fulfill digital orders regardless of the physical components can be beneficial for our merchants, like yourself, and feedback like this can help our Developement team continue making improvements on future releases. Thanks again. -Elias, Shopify Support

September 23, 2022

This app use to work great but now it only sends downloads to a few people and I have to manually send to the rest. Support told me that they would try to fix the problem but to just keep sending manually for now. Im currently looking for a better app.

Blanks Galore
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 10, 2022

I am sorry to hear that you've had this issue with the Digital Downloads app and that you've not been able to find a solution after speaking with our support team. If the app is no longer working for you, you can refer to other apps that allow for digital products to be sold and delivered on the Shopify App Store: https://bit.ly/3rGaR5D. Thank you for getting in touch and for providing us with your feedback. -Victor, Shopify Support

October 5, 2022

There doesn't appear to be any way of automatically fulfilling digital pre-orders. I will soon have several hundred paid pre-orders, but the digital file will not be ready for another 2 weeks, and I don't want to have to go in and manually fulfill every single one by hand. I would happily pay for an app that added this functionality and worked 100% reliably! Also note that in the last year about 5% of my digital product customers were never sent a link to their paid order. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Tracks of the NYC Subway
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied November 1, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel that the Digital Downloads app could be improved. I can certainly see why being able to automate this process would be helpful with pre-orders, and I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support