Reviews (1,253)
What merchants think
This is generated by Shopify Magic. It's shown when an app has 100+ reviews and at least a 4.0 overall rating.
This is generated by Shopify Magic. It's shown when an app has 100+ reviews and at least a 4.0 overall rating.
Feedback submitted
Merchants recommend this app for advanced product customization and complex option logic, including paid add-ons that dynamically update prices while keeping product pages clean. Many say it’s essential for build-to-order or highly personalized products and works reliably across multiple stores. Long-term merchants report ongoing improvements. Support is frequently praised as fast, knowledgeable, and hands-on with theme conflicts, code tweaks, and setup.
Refine
-
By rating
Don't recommend. Maybe the app works well, maybe not. They installed 4 seperate times and each time install broke my site, the last install meant customer could not add to cart. Will no longer do business with these cowboys.
Hi there, I just wanted to sincerely apologize for the issues you ran into with having the app properly installed on your store. It looks like things were fixed, however we understand that at that point, you were no longer interested in trying the app, and understandably so.
Should you decide you want to try Product Options out while it's working properly on your store, please let us know - our expert, Sam, has attempted to reach out to you via email and is hoping to speak with you over the phone in order to get everything resolved, should you want to try again.
Horrible! Bold have deteriorated beyond all recognition over the past 5 years or so. Their apps are old, incompatible with each other as well as many features of Shopify. Support is hopeless and the apps are expensive too. Have gone from using 5 of their apps to none now and it will stay that way.
Do not make the mistake and install the app
Their app downloads a code to the template and then destroys other things. I had to take something and pay him money to repair the damage they caused. And I'm not talking about the sales I lost
Be smart and do not download their apps !! Even if it's free
The support from this app is extremely poor. We have been facing issues with the app and have raised the issue multiple times but did not receive any response from them. Meanwhile the app doesnt work the way it should and causing a loss on every order as the customisation charge is not getting added to the orders.
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve our service. When our level of support falls short of our client's expectations, we take it very seriously. We apologize for the issues that you have been experiencing with your priced options. Our Product Options experts have reached out through phone and email to have the issue resolved as soon as possible.
17 Dec 2019 - I have to again downgrade the rating for this app. I am trying to create product options and app does not save the options. Which means all the work lost. It's been two hours trying to fix this and is a very common problem with the app. It is one of the busiest periods for us. We pay all year round for this app and we need the most it stops working.
I have updated my review as finally, the customer service managed to solve my problem. Hope it works well from here. Thanks
Extremely frustrating app. It does not add products and keep showing the original product price. Contacting Bold is almost impossible. It keeps asking for a password before we can even ask a question.
Hello there. I am very sorry to hear that you are having troubles with our app! I noticed that one of our specialists had reached out to you yesterday in order to try and figure out what could be going wrong from within the app.
Please check your email and let us know how we can best contact you so we may be able to assist in fixing this issue! We would very much like to get this solved for you.
Hope to hear from you soon!
It is powerful, and does everything you need, but please guys, you need to develop a way for us to be able to clear the cache when a new product is published.
We publish a new product every day or two, and the cache time is too long meaning the customers do not get their customization options unless we get in there and manually clear the cache (not something non-developers would probably understand) after each product is published.
Have asked for this option months ago now, but seems to not be on the roadmap still despite support agreeing it is something they have wanted for a while as well.
Just add a "Clear Options Cache" button, or give us an option to set the cache time, and it is five stars all the way.
When the App works its great, if you eve get a problem with it, you'll wish you'd gone for something else, because the customer service is non-existent, and in this fast paced web world we live in, this is totally unpardonable! I would give 5 stars for the App for what it does when working OK, it's really good. That's the upside, if I had known the downside before getting all of our products hooked on the App, I would never have gone for it. It will often (more often than not!) freeze on you when working, resulting on work being lost and having to be redone. We got into the habit of saving our work every couple of moves just so we weren't caught out, but its a total pain in the rear. Then there's the problem of massive and varied delays in synching with Shopify, anything from a few minutes (occasionally) to several hours (most of the time!) which make working with the App extremely time consuming. Lastly there is the BOLD unbelievably poor customer service. You used to be able to email support but now (from 21st. July 2022 on) you get an auto email 3 hours later advising that "To serve you better, we are asking that you connect with our support team through our Help Center. From here, you can submit a support ticket, chat with a product specialist, view our helpful articles, and even create an account to track your ticket progress." Filling out a support ticket which prompts a series of auto emails, spending hours trawling through the "help center" and attempting to talk to a real person on their 'live' chat is a soul-destroying and time wasting experience, it took me 8 hours of frantically trying everything to get a human response. Once I had a human (it seems like there's only one there - Alina, unless they're all called that!) to go through our issues (which was a BOLD issue, not of our making), it was dealt with within 24 hours, but the total drama meant that we had possibly lost £1,000's of business in the meantime. For us to change now would be a massive operation, but because of the above experience, we have started to investigate other Apps to do the same thing. When your business depends on it, you can't rely on an automated service, yes, you need FAQs to get X% of issues dealt with automatically but for the other X% unless you have the back up of excellent customer service carried out quickly and efficiently, you're taking a huge gamble. We'll follow the advice of other one star reviews here and check out other possibly better and possibly cheaper Apps with a proper customer centric focus. Bye-bye BOLD.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback. When our level of support falls short of our client's expectations, we take it very seriously. Feedback like yours allows us to review our procedures and look for ways to improve. I can confirm our team has reached out to help and get you back on track. We sincerely apologize for any frustration this has caused you.
Does the job - but it's SUPER half-baked. You'll get what you want out of it, but you'll be pulling teeth to do so; and then once you set things up - it's interface is god awful and you'll be confused on what you set up in the first place!
But alas - It works well enough, and it's the only option. God damnit.
Really terrible support. You constantly have to be proactive in pushing for a response from Bold.
We had Bold integrate its service with our store and once complete, around a week later, the Bold Options looked unprofessional (did not map with the Shopify options) and no Support from Bold. The Bold options would add duplicates of the option to the cart and then when the customer tried to edit the quantity, the whole item would delete. We had to refund customer's orders due to the faulty Bold options.
I would recommend another service to get around the Shopify 100 variant limit.
The worst customer support we have ever experienced. Last Friday we sent two technical support requests, one is to apply for the installation code from the APP, and the other is to leave a message in the help center to ask for help to set the "add to price" function. On Monday, we received your email, one email replying to the code installation request, let us accept the request of collaborator account, we accepted it immediately. The second is to reply the email about the "add to price" request, and let us check your youtube channel and find solution in help center. I have read all of these. If it can be resolved by ourselves, why should we ask for your help? So, when I replied to your email, I asked again to help us set up the "add to price" function, but so far there is no reply! On Wednesday, I received your email saying that the code was installed, but never mentioned the "add to price" setting request , why??? On Thursday, we tested the installed code and found that there was a problem, so we recorded a video to inform you that there was a problem with the code, and then there is no reply until now. Why is your online chat function never online? If you can't provide online support, why put it on the website??? Our website was ready to go live one week ago, just wait for you to help us set it up, it has been a week. Now it's Tuesday again, no response from Bold customer support team, it has been 10 days (7 business days). We really don't have time to wait any longer.
I'm so terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectation - our goal is to help your business grow and to help you succeed. We really appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance to meet your expectation.